Brahms 1

Brahms 1

One World Symphony
Sung Jin Hong, Artistic Director and Conductor
Adrienne Metzinger, Mezzo Soprano

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68
Clara Schumann: Liebst du um Schönheit*

*arrangement for voice and symphony by Sung Jin Hong

Post-concert wine reception with live jazz by the Robert Page Jazz Trio

Net proceeds will benefit Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen

After 14 years of struggling to continue the legacy of Beethoven, Johannes Brahms (1833–1897) cracked the symphonic code at the age of 43. His first symphony echoes the dramatic strength, lyrical pathos, intellectual cohesion, and spiritual depth of Beethoven. Even the opening measure of his first symphony depicts how Brahms was relentlessly stalked by Beethoven’s formidable shadow. In the finale, however, Brahms embraces Beethoven by featuring a majestic hymn-like theme resembling “Ode to Joy.” The emotional horn-call in the finale was first unveiled in 1862 in a birthday postcard to Clara Schumann, revealing his most inner landscape with her.

Concert length approximately 75 minutes without intermission. Program may be subject to change.


Top: One World Symphony (photo by Jaka Vinšek)
Bottom: Sung Jin Hong (photo by Jaka Vinšek); Robert Page Jazz Trio


Wednesday, December 19, 2012
Holy Apostles Church